PACSCL Finding Aids

Navigation Aids

PACSCL Finding Aids
Search Finding Aids
 

Main Content

Hidden Collections Initiative for Pennsylvania Small Archival Repositories

The Hidden Collections Initiative for Pennsylvania Small Archival Repositories (HCI-PSAR) is a project of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, funded by grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. HCI-PSAR is designed to make better known and more accessible the largely hidden collections at small archival repositories in the five-county Philadelphia region. These include volunteer-run historical institutions, museums, fraternal and ethnic organizations, community groups, churches, clubs, and other non-profit organizations with important archival collections. Hundreds of small archival repositories in the five-county Philadelphia region hold thousands of individual collections documenting a wide range of topics and geographic areas.

The project began in summer 2011 and will conclude in spring 2016. HCI-PSAR staff work to identify small archival repositories in the Philadelphia region, survey and assess their archival collections, and create summary finding aids to these collections. The finding aids are added to this website on an ongoing basis.

Jump to: Bucks County Repositories

Jump to: Chester County Repositories

Jump to: Delaware County Repositories

Jump to: Montgomery County Repositories

Jump to: Philadelphia County Repositories

About the Repositories

1st Regiment Infantry Museum

1st Regiment Infantry Museum

The 1st Regiment Infantry, Pennsylvania, or "The Dandy First," is recognized by the United States Army as the oldest continuously existing command in the Pennsylvania National Guard, and the only existing Pennsylvania unit with service in the Continental Army, representing Pennsylvania. Now designated the 103rd Engineer Battalion Pennsylvania Army National Guard, the unit has fought in nearly every major American war, initially being involved in the French and Indian War and then the Revolutionary War. The 103rd Engineer Battalion Armory today houses the 1st Regiment Infantry Museum dedicated to the history of this storied command. Its archival collections are comprised of over 100 linear feet of materials dating from 1812, including regiment minute books, roll books, officers' letter books, account books, and photograph albums.
African American Museum in Philadelphia

African American Museum in Philadelphia

Founded in 1976 in celebration of the US Bicentennial, the African American Museum in Philadelphia is the nation's first institution funded and built by a major municipality to preserve, interpret, and exhibit the heritage of African Americans. The Museum is committed to telling the story of African Americans in all its permutations: family life, the Civil Rights movement, arts and entertainment, sports, medicine, architecture, politics, religion, law and technology. The Museum holds over 350 linear feet of archival materials dating from the mid 19th century to the present. The archival collections include the papers of famous individuals, including singer Pearl Bailey, pianist Natalie Hinderas, and Philadelphia politician Joseph E. Coleman, as well as less well-known African American performers, athletes, educators, physicians, artists, and other citizens. Materials include family and personal papers, such as correspondence, scrapbooks, and certificates; organizational records, such as minute books, financial documents, and by-laws; and photographs, artwork, posters, architectural drawings, and numerous other document types. The focus of the collections is on the Philadelphia area, although other geographic regions are also covered.
American Swedish Historical Museum

American Swedish Historical Museum

The American Swedish Historical Museum in Philadelphia is the oldest Swedish Museum in the United States. Founded in 1926, the Museum has been dedicated to preserving and promoting Swedish and Swedish-American cultural heritage and traditions for more than 80 years.
The archival collections of the American Swedish Historical Museum are comprised of materials relating to Swedish and Swedish-American culture and history. These materials include papers of prominent individuals, such as Jenny Lind and John Ericsson, as well as of community organizations. The archival collections comprise 79 linear feet of materials and span from 1702 to 1994.
Andalusia Foundation

Andalusia Foundation

The Andalusia Foundation was established in 1980 by James Biddle (1929-2005) and other Biddle family members to ensure the preservation of the family's ancestral home, Andalusia. Overlooking the Delaware River in Bucks County, PA, Andalusia has been the home to generations of Philadelphia's Biddle family since 1814, when Nicholas Biddle and his wife, Jane Craig, inherited the property from her parents. Nicholas and other Biddle family members became prominent among their contemporaries in various fields such as banking, diplomacy, law, politics, military service, agriculture, and horticulture. In addition, the family was friendly with a number of historically important figures, including presidents and foreign dignitaries, and often hosted them at Andalusia. The Andalusia Foundation stewards approximately 70 linear feet of Biddle family papers, dating from 1747 to the present, which are stored at Andalusia. Various family members are represented in the collection through correspondence, diaries, financial records, legal records, scrapbooks, draft and published articles, pamphlets and ephemera, deeds, photographs, and numerous other materials. There is also some secondary-source material in the collection pertaining to the Biddle family and the administration of Andalusia, such as newspaper clippings, articles, photocopies of original documents held at other repositories, pamphlets and ephemera, floor plans and other building-related materials, and genealogical research and information on the Biddles and related families.
Awbury Arboretum

Awbury Arboretum

The mission of the Awbury Arboretum Association is to preserve and interpret Awbury's historic house and landscape, thereby connecting an urban community with nature and history. In 1852 Henry Cope purchased 40 acres of land in the East Germantown section of Philadelphia, where he built a home for his growing family. Over the next 70 years his descendants build 24 houses representing a variety of architectural styles. A portion of this land, now known as the Awbury Arboretum, was left to the City Parks Association in 1916 to protect it from development.
The Awbury Arboretum Archives collects and preserves photographs, records, books, maps, site plans, prints, oral histories, artifacts and more relating to: the history of Awbury's landscape and buildings, members of the Cope family who have lived at Awbury or nearby, life at Awbury since the mid nineteenth century, the City Parks Association, and the history of Quakerism and Germantown. The Awbury Arboretum Archives is comprised of over 50 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1791 to the present.
Bridesburg Historical Society

Bridesburg Historical Society

The Bridesburg Historical Society was established in 1989 to gather and preserve the history of the neighborhood, making the stories of past generations available for today's and tomorrow's generations. Bridesburg is a neighborhood in lower Northeast Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, bounded by the Delaware River and the Frankford Creek. It was originally known as Kirkbridesburg after Joseph Kirkbride, a prominent citizen who owned much land in the area and operated a ferry across the Frankford Creek, but the name was eventually shortened to Bridesburg. The community began to form around 1800, and industry moved into the area with the establishment of the U.S. Arsenal on Frankford Creek (commonly known as the Frankford Arsenal) in 1816 and the Bridesburg Manufacturing Company in 1820. With these industries the community grew, and Bridesburg was incorporated as a borough in 1848. It became part of the City of Philadelphia in the 1854 Act of Consolidation. The Bridesburg Historical Society's collections contain materials relating to the history, culture, and industry of the neighborhood. The archival holdings total 10 linear feet of materials dating from 1816 to 2012.
Bucks County Civil War Round Table Library and Museum

Bucks County Civil War Round Table Library and Museum

The Bucks County Civil War Round Table Library and Museum in Doylestown, Pennsylvania was established by the Bucks County Civil War Round Table in 2003 to serve as a center for the advancement of history and Civil War research and the preservation of Pennsylvania's participation in America's great conflict. The Museum and Library houses approximately 5 linear feet of archival materials, dating from 1861 to the present, although most materials date from 1861 to 1900. Primary source materials include correspondence, administrative and financial military records, and photographs. There is also some accumulated secondary-source material, such as research notes, newspaper clippings, narrative histories, and other items, most of which relate to those involved in the Doylestown-based 104th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry regiment, their descendants, and the monument to the 104th regiment in the Borough of Doylestown.
Byberry Library

Byberry Library

Byberry Library was established in 1794 as a private community library for the residents of the Township of Byberry in the County of Philadelphia. While no longer an active library, it is the repository of a large book collection (including many rare books), a local history collection, various records of the Byberry Friends Meeting, and the records of two inactive local organizations: the Byberry Library Company (est. 1794) and the Byberry Philosophical Society (est. 1829). Byberry Library is administered by the Trustees of Byberry Monthly Meeting of Friends, Inc. Byberry Friends Meeting has a rich history, both as one of Pennsylvania's earliest Quaker meetings--Quaker settlers began meeting for worship in Byberry in 1683--and as a center of learning and social and community activism. Noted abolitionist Robert Purvis (1810-1898) settled in Byberry and was active in the community from the 1840s to the 1870s. Total archival holdings comprise about 13 linear feet of materials spanning the years 1682 to 2002 (bulk 1970-2000).
Chadds Ford Historical Society

Chadds Ford Historical Society

The Chadds Ford Historical Society (CFHS) in Delaware County, Pennsylvania, is a private, non-profit, community-based volunteer organization that has restored and maintains three pre-Revolutionary War era buildings which are open to the public as house museums. The Society's mission is to preserve the properties, records, and artifacts; to interpret the history; and to educate the public concerning the way of life in the Chadds Ford area with emphasis on the eighteenth century. The Society's archival collection spans approximately 27 linear feet of materials dating from 1796 to the present, including family papers, deeds, newspapers, marriage certificates, correspondence, receipts, broadsides, photographs, and maps that document the people, places, and landscape of the Chadds Ford area. Of special interest are the Dr. Benjamin S. and Dr. Isaac Anderson account books, 1821-1905, which consist of 32 ledgers documenting the medical practice of two eminent area physicians. The Society also houses the records of the Brandywine Battlefield Task Force.
Charlestown Historical Society

Charlestown Historical Society

Charlestown Historical Society was founded in 1973 as a non-profit, non-political organization whose aim was and is to provide future generations with a small "window on the past," showing through artifacts and records what life was like in this quiet Chester County, Pennsylvania farming community in the 19th century. The Society's archival holdings, which total over 50 linear feet of materials dating from the early 1700s to the present, include photographs, slides, deeds, maps and atlases, family papers, farming records, business records, school and municipal records, newspaper clippings, scholarly articles, research notes, ephemera, scrapbooks and various other materials collected from local people and organizations.
Chestnut Hill Historical Society

Chestnut Hill Historical Society

Founded in 1967, the Chestnut Hill Historical Society is dedicated to preserving and nurturing the historical, physical, and cultural resources, and the character of Chestnut Hill. The Chestnut Hill Historical Society maintains a professionally managed collection of more than 20,000 archival items and three-dimensional artifacts documenting the community's architectural and social history from the 1680s to the present. The archival holdings include architectural drawings and building records; more than 11,000 photographic images; maps and real estate atlases from before 1849 through the 1955; and prints, drawings, deeds, diaries, genealogical materials, books, and taped and transcribed oral histories.
Charles Albert Tindley Institute

Charles Albert Tindley Institute

The Charles Albert Tindley Institute (CATI), housed at Tindley Temple United Methodist Church in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, preserves and promotes the life and legacy of Dr. Charles Albert Tindley, pastor at the church from 1902 to 1933. Dr. Tindley was one of the first preachers to incorporate song with the delivery of his sermons and is considered one of the progenitors of gospel music. CATI holds about 100 linear feet of records of the church, founded in 1837 as the John Wesley Methodist Episcopal Church and renamed Tindley Temple United Methodist Church in 1927. The Tindley Temple United Methodist Church records date from circa 1900 to the present and consist of membership records, church Trustee records, property and building-related documents, administrative papers, financial records, programs from church services and other events, recordings, photographs, and papers of and research on church reverends. Of note are a small amount of materials from Charles A. Tindley, including photographs of him and his original sermon outlines.
Chichester Historical Society

Chichester Historical Society

Founded in the 1980s, the mission of the Chichester Historical Society is to preserve and share Chichester's rich history and heritage with the public. The Society focuses on the broader Chichester region of Delaware County, Pennsylvania, encompassing the townships of Upper Chichester and Lower Chichester as well as the boroughs of Marcus Hook and Trainer. The Socety's archival holdings, which consist primarily of secondary-source materials such as newspaper clippings, copies of historical documents and photographs, and pamphlets and ephemera, with a small amount of original and primary-source documents, span approximately 10 linear feet of materials dating from 1880 to the present.
Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation

Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation

The Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation, located in Ridley Creek State Park, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, is a living history site with the purpose of enhancing understanding of 1760-90 farm life in Southeastern Pennsylvania by providing high quality, research based experiences to the public. The organization traces its roots to the mid-1960s, when the Bishop's Mill Historical Society, later renamed the Bishop's Mill Historical Institute, was established to preserve, protect and register the old houses in Ridley Creek State Park. Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation's archival holdings span nearly 100 linear feet of materials from the 1970s to the present, primarily consisting of the institutional records of the Plantation and its predecessor organizations. There are also research files of secondary-source materials gathered by Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation to support the organization's research and work, focusing on local history, Colonial life, and historic reenactment.
Concord Township Historical Society

Concord Township Historical Society

The Concord Township Historical Society in Delaware County, Pennsylvania was established in 1967. Its mission is to stimulate interest in Concord Township history through historic document, artifact, and property preservation, research, public and education programs. Its archival collection, spanning over 60 linear feet of materials, dates from 1682 to the present, with most materials dating from the 20th century. Collection strengths include local history and property research, with large amounts of tax records, newspaper clippings, and township planning commission records. The Society also holds original archival materials from various local individuals, families, businesses, and organizations.
Conshohocken Historical Society

Conshohocken Historical Society

The Conshohocken Historical Society was founded in 1963 for the purpose of protecting and preserving the Borough's heritage and educating present and future generations. The society collects personal papers, local business and organization records, photographs, scrapbooks, early maps, genealogies, church histories, family Bibles, Civil War sketches and history books, newspapers, artifacts, and more. The Society's archival holdings total over 75 linear feet of materials, dating from circa 1850 to the present.
Craven Hall Historical Society

Craven Hall Historical Society

The Craven Hall Historical Society, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation dedicated to providing education programs and conducting events to highlight late 18th and early 19th century life in this history-rich area of Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The Society owns and operates Craven Hall, the John Fitch Steamboat Museum, and the nearby Craven/Vansant Burying Ground. The Society's archival materials comprise approximately 20 linear feet of materials dating primarily from the second half of the 20th century, though several items are from the late 18th and 19th century. They consist of primarily secondary-source items relating to the Historical Society, the restoration of Craven Hall, John Fitch, and the John Fitch Steamboat Museum. There are also materials relating to the history of Warminster Township (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) and surrounding areas, including ciphering books, account books, photographs, tax ledgers, deeds, and other documents from local people, families, and organizations.
Dabbs Woodfin Library and Archives at Newlin Grist Mill

Dabbs Woodfin Library and Archives at Newlin Grist Mill

The Newlin Grist Mill, a water-powered grist mill along the West Branch of Chester Creek in what is now Delaware County, Pennsylvania, was built in 1704 by Nathaniel and Mary Newlin. Through several changes of ownership the mill ran continuously until 1941. In 1957, the Nicholas Newlin Foundation was created by E. Mortimer Newlin, a ninth generation descendant, to restore and maintain the mill as a museum. The Foundation's purpose is to preserve the 160-acre mill property, which is a refuge for plants, animals, and birds, as well as the park's historic buildings for the pleasure and education of the public.
The Dabbs Woodfin Library and Archives at Newlin Grist Mill maintains the archival records of the Nicholas Newlin Foundation, 1834-2013 (bulk 1959-2013), spanning about 55 linear feet of materials; the records of the mill when it was a commercial operation known as Concord Flour Mills, about 20 linear feet of materials dating from 1867-1941; and the records of the Society for the Preservation of Old Mills (SPOOM), a national organization founded in 1972 whose goal is to promote interest in old mills. The SPOOM materials span nearly 100 linear feet of materials dating from around the turn of the 20th century to the present, including assembled information on mills by location (photographs, clippings, research materials, and other documents), SPOOM institutional records, and sub-collections accumulated by individual SPOOM members.
Delaware County Historical Society

Delaware County Historical Society

Founded in 1895, the Delaware County Historical Society is the oldest historical society in Delaware County, Pennsylvania. Its mission is to acquire, preserve and make available documentation of Delaware County history; to provide and support educational programs on the history of Delaware County; and to publish materials relevant to this history. DCHS operates two buildings: Greenbank Farm in Marple and the 1907 Delaware County National Bank building in Chester, the latter of which houses the Society's research library and museum collections. The Society's archival holdings consist of over 47 collections that span over 1,200 linear feet of materials dating from 1716 to the present, although most of the collections date from the 19th and 20th centuries. While many areas of Delaware Country are represented, the City of Chester is especially well-documented. Original manuscripts, which include ledgers, scrapbooks, correspondence, photographs, deeds, ephemera, maps, and other documents, relate to various people, families, organizations, particularly community associations, businesses, and local government. The collections also include vertical files on various local history topics that mostly consist of secondary-source materials such as newspaper clippings, pamphlets and ephemera, research notes, transcripts, indexes, printed materials, copies of church and civil records, death and funeral records, and census and tax records, with some original materials such as oral histories.
Doylestown Historical Society

Doylestown Historical Society

The Doylestown Historical Society (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) began in 1995 as a committee of the Doylestown Revitalization Board, established by Borough Council to focus on historic preservation. In 2002 it was incorporated as an independent historical society. The Historical Society's archival holdings, located in the Holloway Research Center, date from 1819 to the present and span over 215 linear feet of materials. They include materials such as minutes, ledgers, correspondence, photographs, ephemera, scrapbooks, genealogy records, maps, and blueprints that document local individuals, families, businesses, organizations, and events. Of special interest is the William Edgar Geil papers, 1886-2013 (bulk 1900-1910), which document the once-renowned evangelical missionary and explorer from Doylestown who was most likely the first individual to travel the entire Great Wall of China.
Dublin Historical Society

Dublin Historical Society

The Dublin Historical Society was established in 1990 to preserve and share the history of the Borough of Dublin located in upper Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The Society's archival collection, which dates from the late 19th century to the present and spans approximately 5 linear feet of materials, includes a collection of Dublin Post Office records; stock and employee records of the Dublin Milling Company; and various photographs, ledgers, papers, and ephemera that document Dublin individuals, families, organizations, and businesses.
East Falls Historical Society

East Falls Historical Society

The East Falls Historical Society, founded in 2004, is a non-profit organization dedicated to discovering, preserving, and promoting historic interest in the East Falls community. East Falls was originally settled by the Lenni Lenape, a Native American tribe. In 1732 Fort St. David was established as a fishery and the area became popular for this purpose. As the area became industrialized by mills and other enterprises, employee homes developed into a neighborhood of row houses. East Falls is well known for its prominent residents (including actress Grace Kelly) and history of rowing on the Schuylkill River.
The East Falls Historical Society is active in documenting historic buildings and sites in East Falls. It conducts oral history interviews with long-time area residents and directors of local organizations. The archival collections of the Society are comprised of materials relating to the history of East Falls and its prominent residents. Over 25 linear feet of archival materials span from 1897 to 2012.
Eastern State Penitentiary

Eastern State Penitentiary

Eastern State Penitentiary, a National Historic Landmark constructed by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, received its first inmate in 1829. Designed by architect John Haviland, this massive structure epitomizes the Pennsylvania System of imprisonment, a system founded on the concept of rehabilitating criminals through reflection, separate confinement, and education in a trade. Approximately 300 prisons worldwide were based on Haviland's unique design. However, the Pennsylvania System was abandoned in 1913 and Eastern State operated as a congregate prison for 57 more years. In 1970, the Commonwealth sold the penitentiary to the City of Philadelphia, its current owner. After using it for a year, the City abandoned the site with no concrete plans for its reuse. In the 1980s, the City's administration heeded the public's plea for preservation and access, spearheaded by the Eastern State Penitentiary Task Force. The Task Force began tours in 1994 and in 1998 became Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site, Inc. (an independent nonprofit organization), which leases the building from the City.
Archival materials at ESPHS total approximately 50 linear feet of materials documenting Eastern State Penitentiary specifically and the Pennsylvania System of imprisonment in general. Collections include fragmentary penitentiary records relating to the operations and administration of the prison as a whole, the physical structures and objects within the walls of the penitentiary during its years of operation, and the administrators, staff and inmates who lived and worked within the building. Also included are inmate-produced newsletters, photographs, case files, and oral histories.
Fairmount Park Historic Resource Archives

Fairmount Park Historic Resource Archives

The Fairmount Park Historic Resource Archives documents the historic resources of Fairmount Park, a division of the Philadelphia Parks and Recreation (PPR) Department. The Parks and Recreation Department was established in 2010 through the merger of two city agencies: the Fairmount Park Commission, which was created in 1867 to oversee the city's parks, and the Department of Recreation. They document Fairmount Park land, parks, recreational sites, buildings, historic sites, and artifacts, as well as programs and projects related to those resources. The collection includes materials in a variety of formats largely dating from the mid 19th century to the present. Most of the collections consist of maps, blueprints, drawings, and plans that document the Fairmount Park System's architectural and landscape history, in particular, its five watershed parks: Fairmount Park, Wissahickon Valley Park, Cobbs Creek Park, Tacony Creek Park, and Pennypack Park. Notably, the collection also contains hundreds of original architectural and landscape drawings from the 1876 Centennial Exposition that was held in Fairmount Park, as well as a significant amount of photographs, prints, and negatives that document the history of the park system. Reference files, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and annual reports offer supporting documentation.
Fireman's Hall Museum

Fireman's Hall Museum

The mission of Fireman's Hall Museum is to preserve the ongoing history of Philadelphia firefighting through the collection, preservation, and presentation of related artifacts for the education of the public and to encourage sound fire prevention practices. Owned by the City of Philadelphia, the Museum is operated by the Philadelphia Fire Department and supported by the Philadelphia Fire Department Historical Corporation. The Philadelphia Fire Department Historical Corporation was chartered in 1974 to support the creation of the museum for the National Bicentennial.
The Fireman's Hall Museum contains over 200 linear feet of archival material, including personal collections of photographs, scrapbooks, and papers from firemen or relating to Philadelphia fires, and records of the Philadelphia Fire Department, the Fire Insurance Patrol of the City of Philadelphia, and other fire-fighting organizations.
Germantown Historical Society

Germantown Historical Society

Founded in 1901 as the Site and Relic Society, the Germantown Historical Society is an educational and research center dedicated to preserving and interpreting the history of the original German Township in northwest Philadelphia, including the contemporary neighborhoods of Germantown, Mt. Airy, and Chestnut Hill and the Wissahickon Valley. The Society houses a collection of artifacts, books, manuscripts, maps, and images documenting Germantown's many stories.
The archival collections of the Germantown Historical Society total over 625 linear feet of materials dating from 1688 to the present. Holdings include personal papers, manuscripts, business records and institutional archives as well as books, newspapers, church and cemetery records, maps, deeds and other land records, scrapbooks and oral history interviews. The image collection is especially rich and includes thousands of glass plate negatives, daguerreotypes and lantern slides, and well over 5,000 photographs depicting residents, streets and structures from the mid-19th century to the present. Collections of particular note include the archives of the African-American Genealogy Group, the Germantown Theatre Guild, Germantown Hospital and the Philadelphia, Germantown and Norristown Rail Road.
Glen Foerd on the Delaware

Glen Foerd on the Delaware

Glen Foerd is the last surviving riverfront estate in the City of Philadelphia. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it was built circa 1850 by Charles Macalester, founder of Torresdale and financial adviser to eight U.S. Presidents. In 1893 the estate was acquired by Robert H. Foerderer, a U.S. Congressman and owner of a major Philadelphia leather tanning plant. His daughter, Florence Foerderer Tonner, a noted patron of the arts and collector, lived at Glen Foerd until her death in 1972. Glen Foerd Conservation Corporation now administers the mansion, which houses archival materials relating to the families and organizations that have owned the property over the years as well as a small amount of materials relating to Torresdale history. The archival collections total over 130 linear feet of materials spanning the years 1870 to 2010 (bulk 1985-2004).
Goschenhoppen Historians, Inc.

Goschenhoppen Historians, Inc.

The Goschenhoppen Historians, Inc. was founded in 1964 in order to preserve the folk culture of the Goschenhoppen region, one of the oldest continuously existing Pennsylvania German communities in America. The archival holdings of the Goschenhoppen Historians relate to the people, businesses, clubs, churches, crafts, and lifestyle of Pennsylvania Germans and northwestern Montgomery County. The collections comprise over 85 linear feet of ledgers, journals, minute books, newspaper clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, deeds, certificates/Fraktur, and other documents dating from 1720 to the present.
Grand Army of the Republic Civil War Museum and Library

Grand Army of the Republic Civil War Museum and Library

The Grand Army of the Republic Civil War Museum and Library was established in 1926 as the repository for the collections of the Grand Army of the Republic, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, and other Civil War related organizations. The original Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) was a fraternal organization founded in 1866 for Union veterans of the Civil War. It was succeeded by the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, a similar organization for male descendants of Union veterans.
The Grand Army of the Republic Civil War Museum and Library is located in the Frankford neighborhood of Northeast Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and houses a large collection of museum artifacts, some 3,000 books, and approximately 300 cubic feet of archives and manuscripts. The archives includes a fairly complete set of records of GAR Post #2 of Philadelphia, along with the records of several dozen other GAR posts, mostly from the Philadelphia area but several from other parts of the nation as well. There are also the records of other Civil War-related organizations, such as the Philadelphia Camp of the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, Daughters of Union Veterans, Ladies of the GAR, and the GAR Home. The collection also includes some 1860s muster out rolls and other original military service records and a significant amount of manuscript material such as letters, diaries, scrapbooks, and photographs in various formats; prints and lithographs; and complete sets of two Philadelphia newspapers during the Civil War years and individual issues of other Civil War-era newspapers.
Haycock Historical Society

Haycock Historical Society

The Haycock Historical Society (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) was established in 2003 "to research and preserve the history of Haycock and to promote and perpetuate public interest and to inform the public generally of the rich heritage of Haycock Township." Its archival collection is comprised of about 10 linear feet of materials dating from 1846 to the present. In addition to research files of secondary-source materials on local history subjects, the Society's holdings feature a collection of 19th-century school books and store ledgers from a prominent local family.
Highlands Historical Society

Highlands Historical Society

The Highlands Historical Society was formed in 1975 to preserve, restore and interpret the historic Highlands mansion and grounds from 1794 to the present. Anthony Morris (1766-1860), a wealthy Philadelphia politician and merchant, purchased over 200 acres of land in Whitemarsh Township, Montgomery County in 1794 and completed construction of The Highlands in 1796. Philadelphia wine merchant George Sheaff (1779-1851) acquired the property in 1813 and it remained in the Sheaff family for over a century. In 1917 the property was sold to Miss Caroline Sinkler (1860-1949), a native South Carolinian with strong ties to Philadelphia. Her niece Emily Sinkler Roosevelt and her husband Nicholas purchased the property in 1941 and gave it to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1957. The Highlands Historical Society maintains an archival collection documenting the history of the property and the families that lived there. The archival collections total over 15 linear feet of materials spanning the years 1797 to 2005 (bulk 1900-2005).
Historic Carversville Society

Historic Carversville Society

The Historic Carversville Society in Bucks County, Pennsylvania was founded as an all-volunteer non-profit organization in 1971. Its mission is to research and promote the history of the village of Carversville, collect and preserve historical materials relating to Carversville, and to encourage the identification and preservation of historic sites in the area. The Society holds about 10 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1793 to the present, including newspaper clippings, photographs, research files on local history topics and historic buildings, oral history interviews, and two 18th-century deeds.
Historic Fallsington, Inc.

Historic Fallsington, Inc.

Historic Fallsington, Inc.'s mission is to "preserve and maintain the historic structures under its stewardship for future generations and educate the public about the culture and history of the village of Fallsington." The village of Fallsington became the first historic district in Bucks County, PA, in 1955 and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1971, largely due to the efforts of Historic Fallsington, Inc. Historic Fallsington is a historic preservation organization and museum that was established in the early 1950s as a response to suburban development that threatened the destruction of historic homes and buildings in the 300 year old village. Since its founding, the organization has continued to work to protect the heritage of Fallsington and in the course of its work has assembled an archives that documents the history of Falls Township and its residents.
Historic Fallsington's archival collection, which spans the years 1729 to 1995 and encompasses about 22 linear feet of materials, includes the papers of numerous Fallsington families and individuals as well as other materials that document the history of the village. The collection includes photographs, personal papers, account books and other financial papers, diaries, deeds, maps, genealogy research, and oral histories.
Historic Langhorne Association

Historic Langhorne Association

The Historic Langhorne Association, established in 1965, is headquartered in an 1888 building that formerly housed the Langhorne Library. Its goal is to research, record, renovate, and preserve the history of Langhorne, Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The Association offers a research library, a museum of local artifacts, and a collection of archival materials.
Historic Langhorne's archival holdings encompass over 55 linear feet of materials, dating primarily from the mid-19th century to the late-20th century. They include house histories for Langhorne properties, subject files, photographs and postcards, maps and blueprints, family papers, genealogy files, organizational records, the records of local fraternal organizations, newspaper clippings, obituaries, deeds, tax assessments, and other research materials.
Historic Sugartown, Inc.

Historic Sugartown, Inc.

Historic Sugartown, Inc. was founded in 1983 to restore the Village of Sugartown located at Sugartown and Boot Roads in Malvern, Chester County, Pennsylvania. Historic Sugartown is "dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of a 19th-century village, to provide an authentic experience of culture and architecture; and to enhance the understanding of our American heritage." The organization stewards nine buildings, a large object collection, and around six linear feet of archival holdings dating from the 1790s to 1980s. The archives document the Worrall and John family, early Sugartown residents who operated a general store and post office, through family papers and business records; as well as various other residents, businesses, organizations, and buildings through scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, deeds, and other materials.
Historic Waynesborough

Historic Waynesborough

Historic Waynesborough is the Chester County, Pennsylvania home of Revolutionary War General Anthony Wayne. Owned by Easttown Township since 1980, the historic site is administered by the Philadelphia Society for the Preservation of Landmarks and supported by many longtime guides and volunteers. Historic Waynesborough's mission is to preserve, display, interpret, and develop the house, collections, and surrounding property as it was during the ownership of seven generations of the Wayne family for the education and enjoyment of the public; and to present to the public the important role which General Anthony Wayne played in our nation's early history. The archival holdings of Historic Waynesborough total approximately 12 linear feet of materials, dating from 1729 to 1990. The collection consists mostly of secondary-source materials, such as newspaper clippings and photocopies, but there is also a significant number of primary documents. Materials pertain largely to various members of the Wayne family and include photographs, financial documents, correspondence, genealogical research, and various other documents.
Historical Society of Bensalem Township

Historical Society of Bensalem Township

The Historical Society of Bensalem Township (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) was founded in 1977. The Society has published several written histories of the township, actively collects objects and documents relating to the history of Bensalem, and is involved in many special events in the Bensalem area. The Society's archival holdings, which span approximately 60 linear feet of materials and date primarily from the late 19th century to the present, include clippings scrapbooks, subject files, maps, deeds, photographs, ledgers, personal and family papers, and other materials that document Bensalem individuals, families, structures, sites, events, and organizations.
Historical Society of Fort Washington

Historical Society of Fort Washington

The mission of the Historical Society of Fort Washington is "to preserve the history of the Upper Dublin area and above all, to promote the study of history, dealing with our area." HSFW was founded in 1935 and is headquartered in the Clifton House, which stands on a site where Revolutionary Generals are believed to have encamped in 1777. The Society works to preserve the Clifton House, including its invaluable museum and library contents, as well as to stimulate public interest and support for history.
The Historical Society of Fort Washington collects archival materials relating to the Fort Washington area of Montgomery County, PA, including the Borough of Ambler and the Township of Upper Dublin. Its archival holdings consist of ledgers, scrapbooks, photographs, deeds, maps, minute books, and other documents totaling over 30 linear feet of materials dating from 1721 to the present.
Historical Society of Hilltown Township

Historical Society of Hilltown Township

The Historical Society of Hilltown Township (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) was established in 1975 to "promote interest in the historical heritage of the township. By preserving buildings, documents and artifacts, and encouraging research, it is hoped to bring the past into perspective." The Society's archival holdings, which encompass over 45 linear feet and date from the late 18th century to the present, consist of various primary-source materials that document Hilltown Township individuals, families, businesses, and properties. These include deeds, personal papers relating to some of the first families of Hilltown, materials relating to area schools, historic site survey forms, photographs, and records of local businesses and organizations. Of special interest is the William Collier slides and files, 1925-1977, that includes 5,200 slides of structures and sites of Bucks County and surrounding areas, local history research files, and professional papers relating to his work for Pennsylvania's Bureau of Employment Security from the 1930s to the 1960s.
Historical Society of Montgomery County

Historical Society of Montgomery County

Originally part of Philadelphia County, Montgomery County is located along the Schuylkill River and became its own county in 1784. Booming industry and manufacturing, rich farm fields, advanced transportation, artistic endeavors and unique religious beliefs, contribute to the greatness of the county. It is the Historical Society of Montgomery County's mission to preserve the county's rich heritage and help tell the stories of the many people who have walked and tended its soil.
The Historical Society of Montgomery County was established in 1881 and incorporated in 1884. It is the designated county historical society as noted by the Commissioners of the County of Montgomery, Pennsylvania. The Historical Society of Montgomery County is a repository for county government records, but also collects private business, organizational, and personal records from the area. The non-county government portion of their archival holdings total about 500 linear feet of materials, spanning from 1690 to 2012.
Historical Society of Tacony

Historical Society of Tacony

Established in 1990, the Historical Society of Tacony is dedicated to preserving the rich traditions and history of the Tacony section of Philadelphia. Originally a rural community along the Delaware River, Tacony began to be industrialized in the late 19th century when Henry Disston located his saw manufacturing plant there and set about creating an ideal working class community for his employees. Tacony is also significant for being the site of pioneering developments in solar power in the early twentieth century. The Society maintains a collection of historic photographs and documents comprising about 40 linear feet of materials spanning the years 1841 to 2011 (bulk 1900-2011).
Historical Society of the Phoenixville Area

Historical Society of the Phoenixville Area

Founded in 1977, the mission of the Historical Society of the Phoenixville Area (Chester County, Pennsylvania) is "to identify, collect, preserve, interpret, and disseminate materials and information pertaining to Phoenixville area history in order to assist and educate the public in understanding and appreciating their Phoenixville area heritage and how it relates to their lives." The Society's archival holdings consist of over 175 linear feet of materials covering more than 200 years (from about 1800 to the present, with the bulk of materials dating from 1850 or later). Subject files, photographs, genealogical materials, business and organizational records, scrapbooks, family papers, and other materials document the residents, organizations, businesses, and buildings of the Phoenixville area. Significant holdings include funeral home registers, school attendance lists, church records, Phoenix Iron Company records, Phoenixville Borough records, and records from several local fraternal organizations.
The Historical Society of Trappe, Collegeville, Perkiomen Valley

The Historical Society of Trappe, Collegeville, Perkiomen Valley

The Historical Society of Trappe, Collegeville, Perkiomen Valley, Inc., was founded in 1964 as a non-profit educational society to encourage local historical research and publication of the results, promote historical activities in the community, and encourage the preservation of historic sites. The Society operates the Henry Melchior Muhlenberg House and the Andrew Miller - Dewees Tavern Museum in Trappe, Pennsylvania. The Society's archival holdings encompass about 75 linear feet of materials spanning from 1750 to the present.
Historical Society of Whitpain

Historical Society of Whitpain

The Historical Society of Whitpain was established in 1983 with the goal of restoring and preserving the abandoned Franklinville Schoolhouse. The school, built in 1858, is the only remaining one room schoolhouse in Whitpain Township still open to the public. The object of the Society is to develop a greater interest, knowledge, and support of the history of Whitpain Township in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, and to preserve, acquire, and restore memorials, historical buildings, and landmarks in the township. Whitpain Township was settled as early as 1685 and is one of the oldest townships in Montgomery County. The Society's archival holdings total about 10 linear feet of materials dating from 1778 to the present, including newspaper clippings, ledgers and other manuscript volumes, pamphlets, ephemera, photographs, deeds, and building plans.
Horsham Preservation and Historical Association

Horsham Preservation and Historical Association

The Horsham Preservation and Historical Association (HPHA), founded in 1997, is dedicated to identifying, studying, preserving and protecting the historical heritage, buildings and artifacts of the Horsham area. Horsham Township began as a farming and residential community. For many years, the Willow Grove Naval Air Station was Horsham's largest employer and its most recognized feature. The predecessor of the Air Station was the Pitcairn Airfield, where Harold Pitcairn built the Mailwing airplane, delivered airmail along the East Coast, formed Eastern Air Lines, developed the Autogiro, and entertained celebrities such as Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart.
The Horsham Preservation and Historical Association collects documentary artifacts relating to Horsham Township, the families who occupied the Penrose-Strawbridge property which serves as HPHA's headquarters, and nearby historic Graeme Park. HPHA's archival collections include property records and deeds, correspondence, photographs, family papers, maps, and other document types, comprising about 7 linear feet of materials dating from 1684 to the present.
John Bowman Bartram Special Collections Library

John Bowman Bartram Special Collections Library

The John Bowman Bartram Special Collections Library at Bartram's Garden collects materials relating to America's first great botanist, John Bartram (1699-1777), and his descendants. The library is administered by the John Bartram Association, established in 1893 to administer and interpret the Bartram house and the oldest surviving botanic garden in North America. The Library's holdings total nearly 100 linear feet of archival materials, including John Bartram Association records, research on the Bartrams by modern authors, other genealogical research materials, photographs, and original eighteenth- and nineteenth-century manuscripts of Bartram family members.
John Gloucester Memorial and Historical Society

John Gloucester Memorial and Historical Society

The John Gloucester Memorial and Historical Society was established in 1910 and is dedicated to preserving the history of First African Presbyterian Church. The first black Presbyterian congregation in the United States, First African Presbyterian was established in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1807 with former slave Rev. John Gloucester as its inaugural pastor. The church is now located at 42nd Street and Girard Avenue in Philadelphia. The John Gloucester Memorial and Historical Society manages approximately 20 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1863 to the present, although the bulk of the materials date from 1950 or later. The collection consists primarily of records of First African Presbyterian Church such as minutes, membership materials, and photographs. There are also some secondary materials about the church, its members, and various organizations and topics that were collected by church members. Of interest are photographs taken by John W. Mosley, a self-taught photographer known for capturing images of Philadelphia's African American community. He worked for the "Philadelphia Inquirer" but also served as official photographer of First African Presbyterian Church.
John J. Wilcox Jr. GLBT Archives of Philadelphia

John J. Wilcox Jr. GLBT Archives of Philadelphia

The archival collection now known as the John J. Wilcox Jr. GLBT Archives of Philadelphia was originally established in 1976 and has been housed at the William Way Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Community Center since 1997. Dedicated to documenting Philadelphia's LGBT community, the collection consists of books, periodicals, organizational records, personal papers, ephemera, visual materials, and sound recordings concerning sexual minorities, the gay/lesbian rights movement, and the history of sexual minority communities with an emphasis on Philadelphia and the Delaware Valley. There are also materials on the women's movement of the 1950s to 1970s. The archival materials total nearly 300 linear feet of materials from 1918 to the present (most are from 1960 to the present).
John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove

John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove

Mill Grove is the first home in America of John James Audubon and the only true Audubon home still standing in the United States. Located in Lower Providence Township, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, Mill Grove was owned for over 17 years by Audubon's father, Jean, a French sea captain. His son John James Audubon lived on the estate from 1803 to 1806. Father and son divested themselves of Mill Grove by 1808. In 1813 Samuel Wetherill of Philadelphia purchased the property. Aside from a break between 1876 -1892, Mill Grove remained in the Wetherill family until Herbert J. Wetherill sold it in 1951 to Montgomery County. The County established the site as a nature sanctuary and a museum about John James Audubon. In 2003 Montgomery County and the National Audubon Society entered into a public/private partnership for Mill Grove. Now named "The John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove," this Montgomery County owned historic site is under the daily management/operation of the National Audubon Society.
The archival collections at the John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove include materials relating to John James Audubon and his family, the Wetherill family, Mill Grove site history, the National Audubon Society, and bird watching. The holdings total approximately 26 linear feet of materials dating from 1726 to 2002.
Johnson House Historic Site

Johnson House Historic Site

The Johnson House is a National Historic Landmark in the Germantown neighborhood of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, significant for its association with the Underground Railroad and abolitionism. Johnson House Historic Site, Inc. is a non-profit organization dedicated to "preserving, interpreting, collecting, researching, and studying historic material relating to the site; providing educational services to diverse audiences through tours, programs, outreach publications, and special events; and working closely with the community on program service development." The Johnson House Historic Site's archival holdings span several linear feet and date from 1794 to the end of the 20th century. Significant holdings relate to former occupants of the house: the Johnson family, a Quaker family of staunch abolitionists; and the Woman's Club of Germantown, which owned the house from 1917-1982 and participated in the social, civic, educational and philanthropic life of Germantown.
Lansdale Historical Society

Lansdale Historical Society

The Lansdale Historical Society, founded in 1972, works to preserve and share collections that document the history of the Borough of Lansdale and the greater North Penn area of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. The complex where the Historical Society is headquartered includes the Jenkins Homestead, a 1770-era Federalist-style farmstead that is the oldest building within the original borders of Lansdale.
Although some materials in Lansdale's collection (specifically deeds) predate the Borough's founding in 1872, the majority of its archival holdings, which span over 160 linear feet, date from the late 19th century to the present. These include photographs, negatives, slides, the records of businesses and fraternal organizations, tax assessments, family histories, obituaries, and various other materials relating to local history. The centerpiece of the collection is its newspaper holdings, including 133 years of the "Lansdale (North Penn) Reporter."
Limerick Township Historical Society

Limerick Township Historical Society

The Limerick Township Historical Society was founded in April 1984 by the former Limerick Township Bicentennial Committee. The Society's headquarters is in the 1827 Hunsberger House, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The mission of the Limerick Township Historical Society is to preserve the history, lore, and historical heritage of Limerick Township and to provide a repository for township memorabilia, such as deeds, pictures, genealogies, historical papers, documents, books, artifacts, and other areas of Township tradition. The Society's archival collections include some 80 linear feet of materials dating from the late 18th century to the present.
Lower Makefield Historical Society

Lower Makefield Historical Society

The mission of the Lower Makefield Historical Society (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) is to stimulate an appreciation of the beauty and historic significance of Lower Makefield Township; to promote, research and publish findings regarding local history and culture; to establish a historical library and collections of artifacts; and to foster an interest in and encourage the preservation of historic buildings, sites, and landscapes in Lower Makefield and the greater Bucks County area. The Society's archival holdings span about 10 linear feet of materials, consisting principally of: research files on the Township compiled by Ralph N. Thompson; oral histories, house histories, and scrapbooks; and records of the Joseph Heacock Company, a nusery and dairy farm (1887-1930). The Society's oldest document is a 1729 deed; the most recent archival items date from the early 21st century. The Society also holds published books and objects, including a wooden model of the Octagonal School House once located in the township.
Lower Merion Historical Society

Lower Merion Historical Society

The Lower Merion Historical Society is dedicated to "Preserving Our Past for the Future" through stewardship of local history, education of the community, preservation of historic resources, and outreach to promote awareness of the cultural heritage of the Township of Lower Merion and the Borough of Narberth.
Since 1949 our volunteers have been a vital force preserving the rich history of the Lower Merion community, assembling more than two dozen well-indexed collections for research in our 1812 building and on the web. These collections include 18th century diaries and family histories; binders of printed photographs of our mansions, factories, stores, houses and people; books detailing local history; burial records; clippings from newspapers and other sources; digital photographs of current buildings and their predecessors; histories of the notable industrialists and industries that have been prominent in the Township; Main Line maps and real estate atlases; Narbrook Park, a "City Beautifu;l" negatives by newspaper photographers and researchers; public school board meeting minutes back to the 1830s, high school yearbooks, school sports and other records; soldiers' letters from World War II; transcribed tapes of oral history and ephemera from Lenape arrowheads to school desks. The collections are indexed on the web at http://lowermerionhistory.org, where most items can be viewed at any time.
Lower Pottsgrove Historical Society

Lower Pottsgrove Historical Society

The Lower Pottsgrove Historical Society in Montgomery County, PA, was founded in 1985 to provide opportunities for area residents to explore their heritage; to conduct programs, projects and activities to help further the preservation of the community; to investigate the history, and keep a library of important memorabilia of the community; and to assist in the restoration and maintenance of historic buildings in Lower Pottsgrove Township. LPHS archival holdings total over 10 linear feet of newspaper clippings, original and copy photographs, ephemera, materials on local schools, Sanatoga Park, Sanatoga Speedway, Ringing Rocks Park, and the records of a local tax collector (1934-1942).
Margaret R. Grundy Memorial Library

Margaret R. Grundy Memorial Library

The Margaret R. Grundy Memorial Library, located along the banks of the Delaware River in the Borough of Bristol, PA, "strives to inform, empower and enrich lives by providing free and equal access to ideas and information with a knowledgeable staff in a welcoming and inspiring environment."
In addition to its circulating collection, the Grundy Library maintains an archive of local history and borough municipal records spanning over 110 linear feet. The library archive documents the history of Bristol Borough, Bucks County, and the surrounding areas primarily from the 19th century to the present. Relating to local individuals, families, businesses, and organizations, the collection is particularly strong in documenting Bristol's prominent role in the history of Bucks County. The municipal records collection includes an impressive amount of borough records, including council minutes that begin in 1730, ten years after the borough's incorporation.
Media Historic Archives Commission

Media Historic Archives Commission

The Media Historic Archives Commission, a unit of the Borough of Media, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, was established in 1981 to act as custodian for archival materials relating to the Borough and its vicinity. The Commission holds over 100 linear feet of archival materials, including photographs, slides, movie film, newspaper articles, audio tapes, historic notes, and memorabilia. The Commission also owns some artifacts and archeological findings. The oldest documents date from the 1680s, although most materials date from the mid 19th century to the present.
Mill at Anselma Preservation and Educational Trust

Mill at Anselma Preservation and Educational Trust

The Mill at Anselma, built in Chester Springs, Pennsylvania in 1747, is the most intact, authentic example of a custom water-powered grain mill in the United States. The Mill at Anselma Preservation and Educational Trust was established in 1998 to "create an innovative historical attraction at the Mill at Anselma that demonstrates through sensory experiences, the evolution of technology and the impact of change in commerce, free enterprise, and transportation on American life over three centuries for schoolchildren, families, scholars, visitors and local residents." The Trust houses approximately 10 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1844 to the present, including a collection of primary and secondary-source materials, such as ledgers, oral histories, photographs, blueprints of the mill and surrounding property, newspaper clippings, and subject files relating to the history of the mill and the families that ran it, and the office files of Eleanor Morris, the co-founder and former president of the French and Pickering Creeks Conservation Trust and a founding member of the Mill at Anselma Preservation and Educational Trust.
Millbrook Society

Millbrook Society

The Millbrook Society is a non-profit organization whose mission is historic preservation, education, historical research, historic re-enacting, and archaeology. The Society was founded in 1984, with an emphasis on local history relating to the Borough of Hatboro area and Montgomery and Bucks Counties. The Millbrook Society archival collections encompass approximately 150 linear feet of materials spanning 1739 to 2011 (bulk 1900 to 2011).
Montgomery Township Historical Society

Montgomery Township Historical Society

Founded in 1988, the mission of the Montgomery Township Historical Society is to educate people about, and encourage an enthusiastic appreciation of, the history and heritage of the North Penn area with a special focus on Montgomery Township; to promote conservation and preservation of private and public buildings and resources; and to advocate for the use of those resources so as to maintain or enrich the cultural landscape of our community. The Society holds approximately 30 linear feet of archival materials relating to the people, schools, historic properties, and local history of Montgomery Township, Pennsylvania.
Moore Archives at Historic Yellow Springs

Moore Archives at Historic Yellow Springs

The Moore Archives at Historic Yellow Springs preserves and provides access to documentary evidence of the history of the village of Yellow Springs, an historic property in northern Chester County, Pennsylvania. Yellow Springs was the site of 18th and 19th century spas; the first military hospital in North America, built during the Revolutionary War; an orphan school for children of Civil War Soldiers; the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA)'s Country School; Good News Productions, the film studio that created the 1958 movie, "The Blob"; and Chester Springs Studio, a vibrant arts center that merged with Historic Yellow Springs in 2007. The Moore Archives holds about 150 linear feet of archival materials, dating from 1823 to 2013, which document the site's history from 1722 into the 21st century. The materials are a combination of original records and collected secondary-source materials about the several organizations that have occupied the village of Historic Yellow Springs over its storied history.
Morris Arboretum Archives

Morris Arboretum Archives

The educational institution and historic public garden that is now the Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania was previously the private estate of Quaker siblings John Thompson Morris (1847-1915) and Lydia Thompson Morris (1849-1932). Bequeathed to the University of Pennsylvania in 1933, it was part of the University's Botany Department until it was established as a separate Interdisciplinary Resource Center in 1975. The Morris Arboretum is the official Arboretum of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
The Morris Arboretum Archives was established in 1987. The collection is comprised of approximately 105 linear feet of materials such as photographs, instructional slides, correspondence, maps and drawings, administrative and financial papers, press clippings and ephemera, and other materials that document the history of the Arboretum from the time John and Lydia Morris acquired it as a private estate in 1887 until the present.
Mummers Museum

Mummers Museum

The Mummers Museum is dedicated to the Philadelphia New Year's Day tradition known as the Mummers Parade. The roots of the tradition date back centuries, but the first official parade occurred on New Year's Day 1901 and continues annually. The museum, which opened in 1976, houses a rich collection of Mummers' paraphernalia and memorabilia, including spectacular costumes, a few of which date to the turn of the 20th Century.
The archival collections at the Mummers Museum comprise about 250 linear feet of materials which span from 1899 to present.
National Iron & Steel Heritage Museum

National Iron & Steel Heritage Museum

The National Iron & Steel Heritage Museum is a project of the Graystone Museum Society of Coatesville (Chester County, Pa.), which was incorporated in 1984. The mission of the National Iron & Steel Heritage Museum is "to promote an understanding of the iron and steel history of Coatesville, Chester County, Southeastern Pennsylvania and the region to audiences of all ages and interests by collecting, preserving, exhibiting and interpreting iron and steelB!B/s history and its relationship to the region and nation beyond." The vast majority of the museum's 900 linear feet of archival holdings are records of two Coatesville companies: Lukens Steel Company and G. O. Carlson, Inc. The Museum also holds technical drawings from Phoenix Iron Company; a large collection of artwork and reference materials from Klaus Grutzka, a commerical artist who specialized in industrial scenery; and a small collection of photographs, original documents, and other materials relating to Coatesville local history. Most of the Museum's archival materials date from the 20th century, with some dating to the mid 19th century.
New Hope Historical Society

New Hope Historical Society

The New Hope Historical Society, located in the Borough of New Hope, Bucks County, PA, was organized in 1958. Its mission is to "inspire people to explore New Hope's past, understand its present, and envision a better future." In 1966 the Society located to the historic Parry Mansion in downtown New Hope, along the banks of the Delaware River. The Society's holdings include about 20 linear feet of archival materials, consisting of photographs, letters, family papers, minute books, organizational records, oral history recordings, and other documents relating to the people, properties, businesses, and organizations of New Hope. Prominent local families the Parrys and Coryells are well-represented in the collection.
Newtown Historic Association

Newtown Historic Association

The Newtown Historic Association, Inc. was incorporated in 1964 as an organization dedicated to the preservation of the heritage of Newtown, Bucks County, PA. Its mission is "to stimulate interest in, preserve, celebrate and share the historical heritage of both Newtown Borough and Township." The Association's archival collection, which dates from circa 1800 to the present and spans close to 200 linear feet of materials, documents the history of Newtown Borough and Township and the surrounding area, including local individuals, families, businesses, and organizations. Documents and artifacts from renowned late eighteenth/early nineteenth-century artist Edward Hicks and his family form part of the Association's holdings.
Newtown Square Historical Society

Newtown Square Historical Society

The main purposes of the Newtown Square Historical Society are to protect, preserve, and promote the historic resources of Newtown Township, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, and the crossroads community known as Newtown Square, and to tell its story to its residents, children, and adults. The formation of the Society in 1984 resulted from the efforts of several Newtown Square residents who coordinated celebrations for the township's tricentennial in 1981. Newtown Square Historical Society's archival holdings comprise approximately 14 linear feet of materials dating from 1744 to the present. The materials include various original manuscripts, such as ledgers, photographs, letters, deeds, pamphlets, ephemera, maps, and newspaper clippings, as well as secondary-source materials and digital files that document the individuals, families, organizations, and landscape of Newtown Square.

Old York Road Historical Society

More information and links coming soon!
Pennypacker Mills

Pennypacker Mills

Pennypacker Mills, the home of former Pennsylvania Governor Samuel W. Pennypacker (1843-1916), contains an extensive archival collection that documents his term as governor (1903-1907), including construction of the State Capitol, and reflects his interests in Pennsylvania history, family history, and Pennsylvania German culture. The archival and library collection dates from 1568-1980, with the majority of materials from 1830-1916.
Pennypacker Mills contains furnishings and artwork collected by Samuel W. Pennypacker and is open regularly for tours. Activities throughout the year include exhibits, nature walks, workshops, and special events.
Perkasie Historical Society

Perkasie Historical Society

The Perkasie Historical Society, founded in 1954, strives to preserve the history of Perkasie Borough, located approximately 40 miles north of Philadelphia in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. This volunteer organization is headquartered in the Perkasie Museum, which was originally a Lehigh Valley Transit Trolley Station (from 1912 to 1951). The Society cares for three other historic sites along with the Museum: the South Perkasie Covered Bridge, the Perkasie Carousel, and the Stout Family Cemetery. Perkasie's archival holdings, which span about 40 linear feet of materials, date primarily from the late 19th century to the present. They include photographs, personal and family papers, the records of businesses and organizations such as the local American Legion post and the First National Bank of Perkasie, and materials relating to World War I and World War II.
Philadelphia Clef Club of Jazz and Performing Arts

Philadelphia Clef Club of Jazz and Performing Arts

The Philadelphia Clef Club of Jazz and the Performing Arts was established in 1966 as the social arm of Local No. 274, the Philadelphia Black musicians union, which was in existence from 1935 to 1971. As part of its mission to further the level of arts and culture in the community, the Clef Club strives to preserve and promote jazz and its history through educational and cultural services and programs. The Clef Club's archives are comprised of the records of both Local No. 274 and the Clef Club, totaling some 34 linear feet of materials dating from 1925-1974. Included are meeting minutes, administrative and financial records, membership/artists' files, correspondence, and a small amount of photos and ephemera. With such illustrious Local No. 274 members as Dizzy Gillespie, John Coltrane, Benny Golson, the Heath Brothers, Jimmy Smith, Grover Washington, and others, the Clef Club's archives are an important historical resource documenting Philadelphia's world-famous jazz tradition.
Philadelphia Sketch Club

Philadelphia Sketch Club

Philadelphia Sketch Club, America's oldest continuously-operating club for artists, was founded in 1860 by six students of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA) in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Since its founding, the Club has offered art classes, mounted exhibitions, and given artists the opportunity to socialize and network with each other. The Archives of the Philadelphia Sketch Club total about 75 linear feet of materials dating from the Club's founding in 1860 through the present. Included are individual artists' files with correspondence, as well as exhibition catalogues, scrapbooks, photographs, newspaper articles, minute books, the newsletter "Portfolio," and financial records. A highlight of the archives is "Seventy-Five Years of the Philadelphia Sketch Club," the club history of over 1,000 pages that was compiled in 1936.
Plumstead Historical Society

Plumstead Historical Society

The Plumstead Historical Society was founded in 1999 with the mission to discover, collect, observe, advance, and disseminate knowledge of the history of Plumstead Township, Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The Society's holdings, which consist of approximately 10 linear feet of materials dating from 1809 to the present, include primary source documents such as school records, deeds, correspondence, business ledgers, and oral histories. There are also secondary source materials including newspaper clippings, photocopies of original documents, narrative histories, and printed materials. A large portion of the Society's collections is school records, mostly school attendance registers, with some supporting documents from the Plumstead Township School Board and its successor, the Central Bucks Joint School Board.
Plymouth Meeting Historical Society

Plymouth Meeting Historical Society

Plymouth Meeting Historical Society is a non-profit charitable organization dedicated to preserving the history of Plymouth and Whitemarsh Townships in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. Organized in 1952, the Society gained stature when it succeeded in saving the Village of Plymouth Meeting from the threat of the proposed Blue Route Expressway. Through the efforts of the Society, the Village of Plymouth Meeting was placed on the National Register of Historic Districts in 1971. The adjacent Village of Cold Point was added to the Register in 1982 and became a further protection against highway expansion. The archival collections of the Society total over 40 linear feet of materials dating primarily from the mid-19th century to the late-20th century, including photographs, maps, architectural drawings, family papers, scrapbooks, deeds, tax assessments, ephemera, and research materials that document the history of this historic area of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.
Pottsgrove Manor

Pottsgrove Manor

Pottsgrove Manor is a historic house built in 1752 for John Potts, ironmaster and founder of Pottstown, Pennsylvania. It is owned and administered by Montgomery County. A successful ironmaster and merchant, John Potts was appointed Justice of the Peace and Judge of the Philadelphia County Court of Common Pleas. He was elected to the Pennsylvania General Assembly from both Berks and Philadelphia Counties. The archival collections at Pottsgrove Manor are comprised of materials relating to the Potts family and their property in Pottstown. The collections total 2 linear feet of materials dating from 1720 to circa 1905.
Pottstown Historical Society

Pottstown Historical Society

The Pottstown Historical Society was organized in 1936 by a direct descendant of John Potts, founder of Pottstown in Montgomery County, PA. The object of the organization is to gather and preserve records and historical landmarks for the community. Collections relate to Pottstown and Montgomery County history and include papers and records relating to the Potts and Rutter families and their iron furnaces; local newspapers; church and cemetery records; census records; city directories; yearbooks; photographs; oral histories; histories of Montgomery, Berks, and Chester Counties; and other materials. The Pottstown Historical Society's archival holdings comprise about 125 linear feet of materials dating from 1715 to the present.
Quakertown Historical Society

Quakertown Historical Society

The mission of the Quakertown Historical Society in Bucks County, Pennsylvania is "to preserve, collect and document the history of Quakertown for future generations to come." The Society maintains a complex of three buildings: the Burgess Foulke House, a stone structure built in 1812 by the father of Quakertown's first burgess (mayor); the Market Place Museum, a renovated barn from the late 1800s; and Liberty Hall, near the site where the Liberty Bell rested in Quakertown in 1777 on its way to Allentown. The Quakertown Historical Society holds approximately 60 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1767 to the present, including local business and municipal ledgers, photographs, newpaper clippings, scrapbooks, deeds, and various other documents.
Richard Wall House Museum

Richard Wall House Museum

The Richard Wall House Museum is located in Elkins Park, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. Richard Wall bought the land directly from William Penn and built a house on the property in 1682. Later, it would become a stop along the Underground Railroad. It is the house with the longest continuous family residency in the state of Pennsylvania (1682-1979). The Richard Wall House Museum is now under the auspices of the Cheltenham Township Historical Commission. Its archival holdings span approximately 20 linear feet and date from the mid-nineteenth to the twenty-first century, consisting of newspaper clippings, research notes, several different photographic types, scrapbooks, maps, ephemera, and a small amount of family papers. The collection documents the people, buildings, and organizations of Cheltenham Township and nearby areas.
Roxborough Manayunk Wissahickon Historical Society

Roxborough Manayunk Wissahickon Historical Society

The Roxborough Manayunk Wissahickon Historical Society is the successor of two local organizations: the 21st Ward Community Council's Historic Committee, formed in 1967 to save one of the oldest structures in the area, and the Wissahickon Valley Historical Society, formed in 1926 (not related to the present organization of the same name located in Blue Bell, Montgomery County). The purpose of the Society is to discover and collect any material which may help to establish or illustrate the history of the area; its exploration, settlement, development, and activities in peace and war; and its progress in population, wealth, education, arts, science, agriculture manufactures, trade, and transportation.
The Society's archival holdings, located at the Roxborough branch of the Philadelphia Free Library, date primarily from the mid-19th century to the present and total about 15 linear feet of materials. The collection consists primarily of newspaper clippings, articles, unpublished genealogies, copies of primary-source documents, and other secondary-source materials relating to local history. The collection also includes a small amount of original primary-source materials, such as receipts and invoices, correspondence, photographs, meeting minutes, deeds, and ephemera.
Ryerss Museum and Library

Ryerss Museum and Library

Ryerss Museum and Library, owned and operated by Philadelphia's Park & Recreation Department, is a public lending library and museum located in the Burholme neighborhood of Northeast Philadelphia. The 1859 building that houses the museum and library was originally owned by two generations of the Ryerss family, Joseph Waln Ryerss and his son Robert Waln Ryerss. Joseph Ryerss (1803-1868) earned his living as an importer/exporter, and served as President of the Tiaga Railroad and the Philadelphia Exchange. The Ryerss family were related both by blood and by marriage to the prominent Philadelphia Quaker Waln family who descended from original Pennsylvania settler Nicholas Waln. Robert Waln Ryerss (1831-1896) was a lawyer who scandalized Philadelphia society by marrying his housekeeper, Mary Ann Reed, eight months before his death. After his death, Robert's will provided for the creation of a museum, library and park. Robert's widow, Mary Ann, spent the rest of her life traveling the world to collect items to add to the family's collection for what is now the Ryerss Museum.
Ryerss Museum and Library's archival holdings are comprised of Ryerss and Waln family papers and other documents relating to the the development of the museum. The collections total over 10 linear feet of materials dating from 1758 to 1950.
Sharon Hill Historical Society

Sharon Hill Historical Society

The Sharon Hill Historical Society in Delaware County, Pennsylvania was incorporated in 1991 by a group of citizens who wished to protect the historic railroad station on Sharon Avenue in the Borough of Sharon Hill from demolition. The restoration of this railroad station remains a priority of the organization, which also collects materials relating to and promotes the history of the area. The Society's archival holdings encompass about 15 linear feet of materials which date from 1879 to the present. Secondary-source materials such as clippings, computer print-outs, and copies of original documents form the bulk of the collection, but there is also a significant amount of original, primary-source materials including photographs, deeds, and sewer rent ledgers for the Borough of Sharon Hill (1959-1982).
Solebury Township Historical Society

Solebury Township Historical Society

The Solebury Township Historical Society was incorporated in 1981 as a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of Solebury Township's (Bucks County, Pennsylvania) historical heritage. The Society, which is headquartered in an historic one-room schoolhouse located in Solebury Village, has an archival collection that spans over 45 linear feet of materials dating from 1845 to the present. The bulk of the society's holdings is local historian Edwin (Ned) Harrington's extensive collection of private publications and research files on various local history topics, particularly local families and historic properties. The Historical Society also has a large collection of attendance registers and some financial records from Solebury schools (1865-1969), records of the Solebury Farmers Club (founded in 1871), and a collection of oral histories which include local personalities and a number of artists from the Pennsylvania Impressionist School.
Springfield Township Historical Society (Bucks County, Pa.)

Springfield Township Historical Society (Bucks County, Pa.)

The Springfield Township Historical Society (Bucks County, Pa.) was founded in 1980 and incorporated as a non-profit in 1984 to "enrich the lives of the residents of Springfield Township by assisting them in researching the history of their homes and families; and to promote and encourage the interest and preservation of the history of the township." Located in a renovated 1892 one-room school house, the Society's archival holdings comprise approximately 20 linear feet of materials dating from 1789 to the present. Materials relating to various township residents and organizations include original photographs, manuscripts, family papers and business records, deeds, and oral histories. There are also genealogy and subject files with newspaper clippings, research notes, and narrative histories.
Springfield Township Historical Society

Springfield Township Historical Society (Montgomery County, Pa.)

The Springfield Township Historical Society was organized in 1985 with the purpose of researching and preserving the history of Springfield Township, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, and educating the general public as to this history. STHS collections include numerous photographs of Springfield Township sites, a small amount of Colonial-era tax records, research on the history of various residences and institutions, and atlases and maps from the late 19th through the 20th century. The collection also contains a number of deeds and documents relating to Springfield Township properties, as well as extensive holdings of information, photographs, and artifacts from the Stotesbury estate, Whitemarsh Hall. STHS archival holdings total about 40 linear feet of materials dating from 1740 to the present.
Spring-Ford Area Historical Society

Spring-Ford Area Historical Society

The Spring-Ford Area Historical Society was founded in 1984. Its mission is to promote and develop information of historical value for the people of Spring City (Chester County, Pa.) and Royersford (Montgomery County, Pa.). The Spring-Ford Area Historical Society Museum complex, located at the William Lewin Plantation House dating from 1861, offers a research library and houses displays on local industry and culture.
The Society's archival collections, which total over 80 linear feet of materials dating primarily from the late 19th century to the late 20th century, consist of photographs, negatives, postcards, scrapbooks, deeds, family histories, obituaries and funeral records, court dockets, business records, ephemera, and other research materials.
St. James' Community History Center

St. James' Community History Center

St. James' Community History Center was created to preserve and recover the history of St. James' Episcopal Church in Lower Providence Township, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania (also known as: St. James' Episcopal Church, Collegeville; St. James' Church, Perkiomen; and St. James', Evansburg) and its surrounding environs. The Center is dedicated to the preservation of artifacts and documents and the conversion of historical documents to appropriate formats to ensure their preservation and facilitate access. The Center's archival holdings total about 10 linear feet of materials, including church administration records, member lists and vital records, genealogical and local history research materials, photographs, and a small amount of rectors' papers.
Stenton

Stenton

Stenton was the country estate of James Logan (1674-1751), who immigrated to Philadelphia with William Penn in 1699 as Colonial Secretary. Logan remained the Penn family's representative and agent in Pennsylvania for the duration of his life and served at the center of the colony's political life. Between 1723 and 1730 he built Stenton, a fine early Georgian gentleman's house in the countryside near Philadelphia (now lower Germantown). Stenton still stands and is an historic site administered by The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania since 1899. Stenton houses about 10 linear feet of original archival papers from the Logan family and descendants,1700 to 1932, and approximately 50 linear feet of documents relating to the administration of Stenton, including research on the family, site maintenance records, and administrative records of the Colonial Dames, 1898-2013.
Strawberry Mansion

Strawberry Mansion

Strawberry Mansion is a historic house museum in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia. Once known as "Summerville," the house was built in 1789 and expanded with additions in the 1820s. It was sold to the Fairmount Park Commission in 1867, but it was not until 1926 that a unified committee of interested women, The Committee of 1926, formed to act as the stewards of the house and restore it to its former glory. The Committee of 1926 continues to administer Strawberry Mansion, which stands as the largest of the Fairmount Park historic houses.
Strawberry Mansion is the repository for records of the Committee of 1926 and the Pennsylvania Society of New England Women. It also holds collections of the Women's Committee of the Philadelphia Sesqui-Centennial International Exposition of 1926 and of eighteenth century Pennsylvania Surveyor-General John Lukens. The archival holdings total over 35 linear feet of materials dating from 1763.
Sunrise Mill

Sunrise Mill

Sunrise Mill dates to 1767 when Michael Krause constructed the grist mill. The archival collection relates to Dr. Chevalier Jackson, who owned the property from 1918-1958. Dr. Jackson advanced the field of laryngology with the invention of the bronchoscope. Many of his tools were invented in the mill itself. Dr. Jackson was also instrumental in getting Congress to pass the Federal Caustic Poison Act of 1927.
Sunrise Mill is currently closed to the public, but the Dr. Chevalier Jackson papers are open to researchers by appointment.
Tinicum Township Historical Society

Tinicum Township Historical Society

The Tinicum Township Historical Society in Delaware County, Pennsylvania was organized in 1986 to collect, maintain, interpret, and make available items of historic importance to the township and the community. The Society's archival holdings comprise about 25 linear feet of materials dating from 1791 to 2013, including photographs, architectural drawings, maps, ephemera, newspaper clippings, and photocopies of primary- and secondary-source documents focusing on local history topics. The Society also holds about 20 linear feet of records from a township commissioner, 1982-2007.
Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society

Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society

Founded in 1936, the Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society is the oldest community organization on the Upper Main Line in suburban Philadelphia conducting local historical research and collecting local historical resources pertaining to the townships of Tredyffrin and Easttown in eastern Chester County, Pennsylvania. Continuously since 1937 the Society has published Tredyffrin Easttown History Quarterly, a periodical focused on Upper Main Line history. The Society holds over 35 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1732 to the present, such as photographs, glass plate negatives, genealogy and local history research materials, school records, correspondence, minute books, financial records, and other family papers and organizational records.
Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum, one of the oldest and largest arboreta in the northeastern United States, is a 650-acre public garden in Media, Delaware County, Pennsylvania. It was established in 1944 through a bequest of Laura Hoopes Tyler, a descendent of the property's original owner, Thomas Minshall. The Minshall family grounds became an arboretum in the early 19th century when brothers Minshall and Jacob Painter began amassing a collection of over 1,000 ornamental plants for scientific study. The Arboretum has approximately 18 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1681 to the present, which include personal and financial papers from the Tyler, Painter, and Minshall families who lived on the property for eight generations, as well as administrative records, correspondence, financial papers, historical research, and other materials relating to Tyler Arboretum. Of interest are a 1681 William Penn deed to Thomas Minshall, several 19th century family photograph albums, and the files of Dr. John Caspar Wister (1887-1982), who was the first director of Tyler Arboretum from 1946 to 1968 and is considered to be one of the premier horticulturalists of the 20th century. Today, Tyler Arboretum's mission is to preserve, develop, and share its diverse horticultural, historic, and natural site resources in order to stimulate stewardship and an understanding of our living world.
Union Library of Hatboro

Union Library of Hatboro

In existence since 1755, the Union Library of Hatboro is the third oldest library in Pennsylvania and the second oldest to be operating under the original charter. In addition to an extensive collection of antiquarian books and institutional records dating from the mid eighteenth century, its archival holdings include ledgers, scrapbooks, minute books, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other documents dating from 1755 to the present. The Union Library of Hatboro also has collected archival documents relating to the history of Hatboro. The entire collection totals over 20 linear feet of materials.
Upper Darby Historical Society

Upper Darby Historical Society

The Upper Darby Historical Society was founded in 1984 for the purpose of preserving historic sites, documents, monuments, and artifacts in Upper Darby Township, Delaware County, Pennsylvania. The Society holds about 60 linear feet of archival materials, one-third of which consists of a set of approximately 1,000 early 1900s glass plate negatives from a local photographer. The remainder of the Society's archival holdings consist of various primary and secondary source materials dating from 1799 to 2013 that document Upper Darby families, individuals, organizations, institutions, and events over time. The primary source materials include maps, scrapbooks, deeds, photographs, slides, ephemera, correspondence, autograph books, and more; the secondary source materials include newspaper clippings, photocopies of original documents, narrative histories, research notes, and printed works.
Upper Moreland Historical Association

Upper Moreland Historical Association

Since its founding in 1996, the role of the Upper Moreland Historical Association in the community has been the collection, preservation and stewardship of the history, folklore, and culture of Upper Moreland Township (Montgomery County, PA). The mission of the Association is to foster an appreciation for local history, to promote an interest in the area's past events, people and unique cultures, and to instill a sense of pride in the heritage of our community. The Association houses over 50 linear feet of archival materials, including newspaper clippings, ephemera, pamphlets/brochures, original and reproduction photographs, photocopies of primary source documents, research notes and genealogies, oral histories, scrapbooks, ledgers, and deeds.
Upper Uwchlan Township Historic Commission

Upper Uwchlan Township Historic Commission

The Upper Uwchlan Township Historic Commission was established in 1989 to help preserve the history and historic structures of the Chester County, Pennsylvania township. The Historic Commission maintains a collection of approximately 17 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1829 to 2005, including manuscripts from local families as well as secondary-source subject files relating to the people, buildings, property, organizations, and other aspects of Upper Uwchlan Township. The property files are a particularly convenient resource for local property researchers or home owners. Also of special interest are papers from prominent local educator Abraham Fetters, Jr., including some Civil War documents and items pertaining to local schools, including the Edgefield Institute (a private co-ed academy run by Abraham Fetters Jr. out of his home, 1868-1884).
Uwchlan Township Historical Commission

Uwchlan Township Historical Commission

Uwchlan Township Historical Commission (Chester County, Pennsylvania) was founded in 1975 in conjuction with the US Bicentennial celebration to promote historic preservation within the township. The Commission holds open hours in two township-owned historic buildings, the John Cadwalader House and the Edith P. Moore School House; researches buildings in the township built before 1950, especially those in the Lionville Historic District; and works generally to promote the history and preservation of Uwchlan Township. The Commission holds over 60 linear feet of archival materials dating from 1742 to the present. Over half of these materials are research and subject files on historic properties and other local history topics, consisting of secondary-source materials such as newspaper clippings, published and unpublished research articles, photocopies of primary-source documents, and pamphlets and ephemera. There is also a substantial amount of original primary-source material, such as photographs, deeds, maps, family papers, business records, municipal records, and various other materials collected from local people and organizations.
Wallace Township Archives

Wallace Township Archives

Established in 1975 by the township commissioners, the Wallace Township Historical Commission (Chester County, Pennsylvania) is charged with the responsibility of researching and recording the township's heritage. As custodian of this heritage, the Commission endeavors to preserve the historical integrity of the Township and maintain archives relating to the people, buildings, industries, landscape, and other pertinent information. The Archivist of Wallace Township is a position created by township ordinance and appointed by the Board of Supervisors to care for and grow the archival collection. The Wallace Township Archives is comprised of about 50 linear feet of archival materials dating from the late 1800s to the present, including scrapbooks, maps and blueprints, deeds, financial and administrative records, photographs, audio recordings, ephemera, correspondence, posters, and genealogy and property research materials. The Archives is also the repository for the Abraham R. McIlvaine correspondence, 1836-1857, on long term loan from the Friends of Springton Manor. McIlvaine (1804-1863) was a farmer and United States Congressman from Pennsylvania. In office from 1843-1849, he befriended future president Abraham Lincoln during Lincoln's only term in Congress.
Warwick Township Historical Society

Warwick Township Historical Society

The business and purpose of the Warwick Township Historical Society (WTHS) is to bring together those people interested in history, and especially in the history of Warwick Township, Bucks County, Pennsylvania. WTHS is responsible for restoring, maintaining and operating the Moland House property, a Revolutionary War historic site where Pulaski and Lafayette joined Washington's army, for the benefit of the public. WTHS archival holdings include materials regarding the late 1990s and early 2000s restoration of the Moland House, organizational records of the WTHS and its predecessor (the Warwick Township Historic Commission), and a 1989 historic resource survey of Warwick Township.
Welkinweir

Welkinweir

Welkinweir is an historic 162-acre estate, arboretum, and nature sanctuary in East Nantmeal Township, Chester County, Pennsylvania. The property, which in the early 18th century was part of Reading Furnace, was purchased in 1935 by Everett G. (1902-1983) and Grace H. (1905-1999) Rodebaugh, philanthropists, conservationists, and socialites. Everett owned a prominent court reporting business. Welkinweir is owned and administered by Green Valleys Watershed Association, an environmental organization the Rodebaughs helped found in 1964. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.
Welkinweir is the repository of the Everett and Grace Rodebaugh papers, circa 1890-1985, which consist of approximately 25 linear feet of materials containing Everett Rodebaugh's professional papers, which include correspondence and legal/court records and transcripts; the personal papers of Everett and Grace, which largely include photographs, travel slides, and letters between the two; and materials relating to the Welkinweir estate such as photographs, correspondence, financial and legal documents, and blueprints. Welkinweir also holds the Estelle Cremers collection on Welkinweir, circa 1975-2001 (bulk 1990-2001), a small accumulation of materials compiled by Estelle Cremers in her role as executrix for the estate of Grace Rodebaugh and historian of Welkinweir.
Welsh Valley Preservation Society

Welsh Valley Preservation Society

The mission of the Welsh Valley Preservation Society is to educate the public about the history of Towamencin Township and its place in Pennsylvania history as demonstrated by the architecture of the Morgan Log House, the lives of its past residents and their material culture. The circa mid-1700s Morgan Log House, on land originally settled in 1708 by Daniel Boone's grandfather Edward Morgan, is an example of early domestic architecture. Originally founded as the Towamencin Historical Society in 1970, the Society changed its name to the Welsh Valley Preservation Society in 1985, in response to a need to expand its educational programming.
The Welsh Valley Preservation Society collects archival material relating to Towamencin Township in general and to the Morgan Log House in particular. The repository holds approximately 3 linear feet of archival material dating from 1795 to 1998, including photographs, scrapbooks, and deeds.
Westtown School Archives

Westtown School Archives

Westtown School in Westtown Township, Chester County, Pennsylvania is the oldest continuously operating coeducational boarding school in the United States. It was founded by the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) in 1799 with the goal of educating Quaker children in an environment that fostered moral development consistent with their religious ideals. The Esther Duke Archives at Westtown School, named in honor of Westtown alumna Esther Duke (1920-2005), contains over 650 linear feet of archival materials that date from 1682 to the present. Westtown school records make up the vast majority of the Archives' holdings, measuring approximately 600 linear feet. The Archives holds significant correspondence from the 19th century between students and families, as well as smaller collections from various alumni, teachers, and other individuals associated with Westtown, documenting teaching careers, school experiences, and lives spent beyond the school. Because of Westtown's strong Quaker heritage, the Archives is a resource for Quaker history as well as the history of education and related topics.
Wharton Esherick Museum

Wharton Esherick Museum

The Wharton Esherick Museum is a non-profit organization founded in 1971 to preserve and exhibit Wharton Esherick's unique, self-designed and self-furnished studio/home in Malvern, Chester County, Pennsylvania. Wharton Esherick (1887-1970) was a sculptor who worked primarily in wood, readily extending his unique forms to furniture, furnishings, utensils, interiors and buildings, creating sculptural environments. He has been called the link between the Arts and Crafts Movement and the resurgent interest in furniture making following World War II, the dean of American craftsmen, and the foundation of the current Studio Furniture Movement. The Wharton Esherick Museum holds about 10 linear feet of papers of Wharton Esherick and his immediate family, including photographs, work documentation, correspondence, financial papers, publicity clippings, and other materials that primarily document Esherick's work and to a lesser extent his personal life and the personal life of his immediate family. The Museum also holds a smaller collection of research files on Esherick compiled by Susan R. Hinkel.
West Caln Township Historical Commission

West Caln Township Historical Commission

The West Caln Township Historical Commission collects archival materials and performs research on the history of West Caln Township in Chester County, Pennsylvania. The Commission's archival holdings include over 10 linear feet of materials dating from the mid-19th century to the present, consisting mostly of secondary-source materials such as newspaper clippings, photocopies, and research notes, with some original documents including school board records, maps, photographs, letters, oral histories, and deeds. The holdings document various West Caln Township individuals, families, organizations, and properties.
Wissahickon Valley Historical Society

Wissahickon Valley Historical Society

Founded in 1975 and located in Blue Bell, the Wissahickon Valley Historical Society's purpose is to preserve the local historical buildings, artifacts, and folklore of the historic Wissahickon Valley and the Wissahickon School District in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. The Society's coverage area includes the Borough of Ambler, the Townships of Whitpain and Lower Gwynedd, and the villages of Blue Bell, Broad Axe, Center Square, and Penllyn. The Society houses over 30 linear feet of archival materials, including ephemera, photographs, receipts, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, deeds, maps, and organization records dealing with local businesses, schools, churches, and events.
Wissahickon Valley Watershed Association

Wissahickon Valley Watershed Association

The Wissahickon Valley Watershed Association (WVWA), based in eastern Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, is a non-profit land trust founded in 1957 to protect the quality and beauty of the Wissahickon Creek. WVWA stewards several historic buildings, including the Evans-Mumbower Mill, which it acquired in 1987. WVWA holds two small collections of archival materials related to the mill: Mumbower's Mill ledgers, 1851-1920, which document the operations of the grist mill while it was under the ownership of the Mumbower family; and Mumbower family papers, 1927-1950, consisting principally of a family photograph album and a binder on Mumbower family reunions.
Woodford Mansion

Woodford Mansion

Woodford Mansion is a National Historic Landmark located in Fairmount Park in Philadelphia. Built as a country home in 1756-58 by William Coleman, a Philadelphia merchant and close friend of Benjamin Franklin, Woodford is one of the most elegant survivors of the summer retreats built along the Schuylkill River by Philadelphia's well-to-do in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Woodford is owned by the Philadelphia Parks and Recreation Department and has been operated by the Naomi Wood Trust since 1926. The house is furnished with an extraordinary collection of antiques begun by Naomi Wood, a Philadelphia-born collector. Woodford Mansion's archival holdings total approximately 10 linear feet of records of the Naomi Wood Trust, primarily photographs and records of the antique furnishings provided by the Trust.
Woodlands Mansion and Cemetery

Woodlands Mansion and Cemetery

The Woodlands is a historic mansion and cemetery in West Philadelphia. Built circa 1770 by William Hamilton and enlarged by him in 1786-1792, the mansion is one of the nation's most sophisticated neoclassical houses from the years following the American Revolution. The Woodlands Cemetery Company was founded in 1840, when it purchased the estate. The Woodlands was a favorite destination for Victorian outings and is the final resting place of many famous Philadelphians.
The collective mission of the Woodlands Cemetery Company of Philadelphia and the Woodlands Trust for Historic Preservation is to preserve and interpret its nationally significant cultural landscape, historic buildings, and cemetery and to make them available to the public as vital educational, environmental, and community resources. The Woodlands houses about 80 linear feet of burial and administrative records of the Woodlands Cemetery Company, 1843-2008.
Worcester Historical Society

Worcester Historical Society

The mission of the Worcester Historical Society is to tell the story of life in Worcester Township during the second half of the 19th century and continuing to the present. By collecting and preserving artifacts of that period, it will give future generations insight into that society, its people, their family life, education, industry, and especially farming. Worcester Township was established in 1733 and is comprised of three villages: Center Point (the geographical center of Montgomery County), Fairview Village, and Cedars (formerly Cedar Hills). Farming has always been central to life in Worcester Township. The Worcester Historical Society collects documents and artifacts relating to the history of Worcester Township. Its archival holdings total some 30 linear feet of materials dating from 1788 to the present, including ledgers, scrapbooks, photographs, letters, receipts, certificates, maps, deeds, and other historical papers.
Yardley Historical Association

Yardley Historical Association

The Colonial Yardley Historical Association was formed in the Borough of Yardley, Bucks County, Pennsylvania in 1964 after interest in preserving the community's history was stimulated by a 1963 "Canal Days" celebration. In 1970, the organization adopted "Yardley Historical Association, Inc." as its official name. At its headquarters in the Old Library by Lake Afton in Yardley, the Association maintains an archival collection of over 75 linear feet of material dating from 1741 to the present, with most of the materials documenting the 19th and 20th centuries. Holdings include materials such as minutes, ledgers, scrapbooks, personal papers, photographs (including a significant amount of photographs from the "Yardley News" newspaper), and oral histories that document Yardley individuals, families, organizations, businesses, and events. Of special interest are records of Yardley Borough, Yardley Library Company, Yardley Civic Club, and the Woman's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU) of Yardley.